After a Week of Struggling my Laptop Decided to Live

About ten days ago, I came home from a quick grocery run to find the threaded BSOD gracing my screen. Rebooted and everything seemed fine. Until an hour later my laptop decided to crash again. I ran repairs and updated drivers in between hourly crashes.

Around Friday, it crashed while booting due to unmountable boot volume. And though, I loathe the thing, I’ve never been so glad, I kept my old desktop. At least, that allowed my to look up possible solutions (I’m a smartphone hater). Got it running again after about five hours.  Now featuring infernally long boot times.

After some looking around and for a bit, amidst several more crashes (now about once every twelve hours) I narrowed down to bad sectors on my C: drive. And as most of these occurred sometime after running Baldur’s Gate 2 Enhanced Edition but never without or during, I figured the two were related. Then in a last ditch effort, because I won’t have

Then in a last ditch effort, because I won’t have time or opportunity to get a new drive until next week at the earliest, I moved the Documents folder to D: on Monday. It’s the only thing Baldur’s Gate accesses directly and might try to modify during or after shutdown.

Whether I was right or not, my boot times are back to normal and I haven’t had a crash since.

Leave a comment