Of Half-told Stories and Glaring Mistakes

While Mist still holds the majority of my attention, I’ve also been trying to come up with a more gripping blurb for What Lies Within. I failed, but it made me realize that WLW starts in the middle of the story rather than at the beginning. It should have started with Ash learning of the house’s imminent demolition and his decision to go there before it’s too late, not with him already there.

Not really sure what to do with that. A rewrite would turn it into a completely different, though deeper, story, but I’m not sure it’s worth doing. I might just write Ash Manor of as my “training wheels” series. At least I got a lot of time to decide. I’m not touching anything else until the first draft of Mist is done.

On a happier note, the “forced” NaNo break on  No Such Thing allowed me to realize that there’s a massive consistency error right on the first page.

The main character is lost deep inside a cave and carries that world’s version of a gaslamp. The lamp has been out of fuel for hours, yet, when he drops it, he sees the shards scatter. A little later, he also sees a path branch off from the main path.

I guess, distance really helps.

Leave a Reply

