Small Personal Comparison of Pantsing VS Plotting

I finally read through what I have of A Fool’s Errand (outlined). Then, just for fun, I compared it to Lost Among Shadows (starting point plus rough idea where I was going) and the first quarter of Chaos Unbound, my 2014 NaNo (pantsed).  Despite its reluctance to adhere to my outline, I expected Fool to be the most consistent plotwise. If anything  it’s the least while Chaos is the most consistent.

If anything  it’s the least while Chaos is the most consistent. True, Chaos has its own share of problems. Like the threaded thin middle and an intentional Deus ex at the end, but even that doesn’t fully come out of nowhere. It’s hinted at throughout the story, but never properly set up.

It seems that A Fool’s Errand isn’t the story, I thought it was. I still want to write it, though. So, I’m going to scrap about 20k words and  carry on from there. Once I’ve released Lost Among Shadows. That one “only” needs to be revised and I want to get it out sometime this year. So, they’re trading places.

Leave a Reply

