Mount Typo is Just a Hill…

…or why I love yWriter.

I’ve always had this thing with reading out loud. I tend to stop in the middle of a sentence and not notice until pages later. So, finding typos that way was always impossible for me. For a while I used Natural Reader free to overcome the issue, but the Buy Now or  wait X seconds gets annoying when yo gotta get through several thousand words., and I’m not a big enough fan of the software to buy it. Call me weird, but I like Microsoft Sam. Where’s he gone off to anyway?

Then I misplaced my old Kindle Keyboard. I’m sure it’ around here somewhere, but I can’t use it and the batteries probably fried by now anyway; I haven’t seen the thing in months. Since then, I’ve spent copious amounts of energy on convincing myself that my titles are littered with typos, I can’t see.

Yesterday, I found the solution to my problem. yWriter has build in text to speech. So far, I’ve run  a few chapters of Beyond the Wall through it, and found surprisingly little typos. More than I’d like to find once its published, but far fewer than I feared. It’s one every three or so pages, when I expected vice versa.

My real issue seems to be doubled up words though. Within chapter one Ash’s had perpetual perpetual headaches, been in pain pain, and gone back back.

So, just to make sure, I’ll give everything I’ve published so far the yWriter treatment, with What Lies Within getting the first slot, so it’s all neat and tidy for Beyond the Wall‘s release. Gotta update the backmatter anyway…

Leave a Reply

