I’ve Created A Monster

It’s October now and with that time to make a decision on whether or not I want to NaNo. To help me decide I read last years novel to see just how dreadful it turned out. It worked, but not in the way I expected.”Chaos Unbound” while rife with errors and holes, is a treasure drove of  material for Serials or trilogies. I’ve left myself so many references to past events that bring the setting to life, that it would be a shame to leave them unexplored.  And, unless I want to add hundreds or maybe thousands of pages of info dump to CU, they have to be separate stories/story arcs set in the same universe, but at different points in time.

So, yes, I will be doing NaNoWriMo, but as a rebel. I’ll finish revising “The Enemy Within”, which is now called “Ash Manor: The Return”, sometime this month–should be within a week to, at most, ten days– Then I’ll use the rest of the month to write the first story, set as far back in CU’s history as I care to go. In November I’ll continue the serial, maybe even finish it. If I can keep the same pace as last year and stick to about 10k words per episode, I’ll get between nine and ten out of the month. I might drop dead after, but…I’ll die happy at least.

The added benefit to essentially just writing extended history, is that I know where I need to end up, because the events are already established, but I don’t have a strict road map. So, I get to pants enough to make me happy without the risk of losing my way.

Leave a Reply

