Reading Like a Reader vs Reading Like a Writer

That’s another of those concepts I kept reading about, but though idiotic. After all, I can’t control the way I read, right?

Turns out, I was both right and wrong, because the more I wrote, the more the way I read changed. Now when I read, I analyze sentences and structure, as if that was the only reason for picking up the book in the first place.  I catch myself looking for the hints on what’s going to happen next. It’s also made me realize that the 50 or so pages I’ve always given books to entrance me, more often than not, fell between the 10 and 25% of total length marker. The problem?

Now, that I’m aware of it, I can’t stop and I’m entirely to good at “calling it.”I haven’t been able to sit back and enjoy a book–or movie for that matter–in months and it’s getting on my nerves. I miss the days when I didn’t know that the lost gem on page five would lead to treason later on. I even switched to mysteries for a while, because I figured the unknown territory might help, but, no. It’s even worse there. What’s the point of reading the other 300+ pages if you know who did it. Unless the writing’s just that good, of course.

I don’t mind when the calls are obvious. Like a book set in the 1340s potentially dealing with plague, and I still enjoy reading, but I’d like to either go back to the way it used to be to gain the ability to switch back and forth.

Of course, reading as a writer has its benefits, too. I’ve alway been a bit of a weird reader. As in, I’d read the beginning of a paragraph, then the end before returning for the middle and sometimes I’d do that with entire pages; always an automatic process with no warning. I’d still get the concept of the page but miss the minute details. As a writer, I can read from top to bottom like I’m supposed to and it’s let me rediscover new sides to books I first read ages ago. Some of which I originally didn’t like, because their beauty was in the details.

So, yeah, I’m hoping for an off switch.

Leave a Reply

