I Might Be Breaking up With NaNoWriMo

I hit my target word count sometime around the 17th. Now that I’ve had time to reflect on my experience, and have gone back to my previous write some/edit some routine, I have to say that the only thing Camp NaNo did for me this time was to slow me down. It’s not the story’s fault. That I still like and will continue working on, but as more of a side project.

Don’t get me wrong. I still had fun doing Camp, but I’m apparently not really a single project writer. I like to bounce back and forth, and to split my working time between writing and editing, doing more of one according to necessity.  Maybe going full focus on NaNo was a mistake. I don’t know, but at the moment I’m not sure if I want to do November or not. I’ll see when the time comes.

Thing is, I don’t need that push from a third party anymore. i can hold myself accountable now. In the past year, I’ve had one migraine day where I “only” manged around 400 words and one day where I couldn’t be bothered to start writing until just before midnight, but I  did a nice 2k+ before retiring. And that’s the other thing: Lately I’ve stopped writing to a specific word count and haven’t recorded or even checked mine in a good two weeks. I’ve pages upon pages of new writing, freshly edited stories, and ideas, I plan to develop further.

I’ve only one story left in my first batch that I haven’t looked at yet. The rest are waiting for me to give them a final check for typos and punctuation etc. at the end of september before they hit the virtual shelves.

I think, I may have leveled up and NaNo simply has no place in my new level.

2 thoughts on “I Might Be Breaking up With NaNoWriMo

  1. I, too, like to bounce between projects — but because of NaNo, I have finally moved past the 5,000 word wall I inevitably meet with each project. NaNo definitely isn’t for everybody, though, and if you have leveled up, then go for it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. NaNo did the same for me last year. It’s kind of the reason I finally got past the “one day I’ll write a book” stage. I do owe it a lot, but it’s just not the way I write now.I’d still recommend giving it a try, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

