A Bit Worried About Camp NaNo

I’ve spent the last few months both editing and writing–some days only editing.  As such, I’ve not consistently written my 1000 words a day. Now with camp around the corner, I’m starting to worry. What if I can’t switch back to only writing?  If I can’t meet my goals? Thing is, I went through the same thing last November only with planning. I ended up with ~89k that month.

So chance are I’m just overreacting.  I’m not even sure why I’m freaking out. So what if I don’t finish that novella in July? On the first I’ve consistently written and/or edited for a year. It’d throw a wrench in my self publishing plans, but so does Camp in a way.

The cabin, I’ve been sorted into, seems good so far. Communicative but not constantly babbling.

I guess, it comes down to remembering that I do NaNo for fun, not because I need someone to hold me accountable. I’ve written the first ~300 words  just to get me started. Not particularly happy with them, but it’s a first draft.

Looking back, I can’t believe how long it took me to realize that first drafts can, and often do, suck. I still have the urge to go back and fiddle with stuff, but that’s why my inner editor has a tiny little room in my mind’s basement. I throw him ( yes, my inner editor is male. Always has been) plot bunnies every so often. He’s happy enough…

Leave a Reply

